Forest cover change in Paraguay

Paraguay, officially the Republic of Paraguay, is a landlocked country in central South America, bordered by Argentina to the south and southwest, Brazil to the east and northeast, and Bolivia to the northwest. Paraguay lies on both banks of the Paraguay River, which runs through the center of the country from north to south. Due to its central location in South America, it is sometimes referred to as Corazón de Sudamérica ("Heart of South America").

Sandwitched between Argentina to the southwest and Brazil to the northeast, landlocked Paraguay possess remarkable ecological richness for its relatively small (about the size of California) area. The northwestern part of the country is occupied by the dry woodlands known as the Chaco. In the center of the country, in the lowlands around the Río Paraguay, is the alternately wooded and swampy Humid Chaco. To the east are scattered remnants of the Atlantic Forest, a tropical forest ecologically distinct from the Amazon Rainforest.

Forest Change in Paraguay, 1990-2000



Data source: Hansen/UMD/Google/USGS/NASA

You may also like
  • ← Previous

  • Next →